Region of Sudan

Darfur (Under CC License)

Darfur is a region in western Sudan. Dar is an Arabic word meaning home of – the region was named Dardaju while ruled by the Daju, who migrated from MeroΓ« c. 350 AD, and it was then renamed Dartunjur when the Tunjur ruled the area. Darfur was an independent sultanate for several hundred years, incorporated into Sudan by Anglo-Egyptian forces in 1916. The region is divided into five federal states: Central Darfur, East Darfur, North Darfur, South Darfur and West Darfur. Because of the war in Darfur between Sudanese government forces and the indigenous population, the region has been in a state of humanitarian emergency since 2003.

Darfur News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

You might like