New Zealand

Island country in the South Pacific

New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It comprises two main landmasses—the North Island and the South Island —and around 600 smaller islands, covering a total area of 268,021 square kilometres (103,500 sq mi). New Zealand is about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the islands of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. The country's varied topography and sharp mountain peaks, including the Southern Alps, owe much to tectonic uplift and volcanic eruptions. New Zealand's capital city is Wellington, and its most populous city is Auckland.

New Zealand News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
The study is only the second to draw a direct link between glacier melt and human-induced climate change.
Credit: SBS - Published 6 hours ago

Five million Melbourne residents have awoken under New Zealand-style 'stage four' COVID-19 restrictions that have been endorsed by the federal government.
Credit: SBS - Published 12 hours ago

"We wanted to bring a smile to customers," the firm's New Zealand arm said. "We are sorry."
Credit: BBC News - Published 4 days ago

Country is last of the Five Eyes alliance to take action, saying it ‘can no longer trust that Hong Kong’s criminal justice system’ New Zealand has..
6 days ago • WorldNews
The country follows Australia and the UK in its response to China's new national security law.
Credit: BBC News - Published 6 days ago

You might like