Autonomous area of northeastern Spain

Catalonia (Under CC License)

Catalonia is an autonomous community in Spain on the northeastern corner of the Iberian Peninsula, designated as a nationality by its Statute of Autonomy. Catalonia consists of four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona. The capital and largest city is Barcelona, the second-most populated municipality in Spain and the core of the sixth most populous urban area in the European Union. It comprises most of the territory of the former Principality of Catalonia. It is bordered by France (Occitanie) and Andorra to the north, the Mediterranean Sea to the east, and the Spanish autonomous communities of Aragon to the west and Valencia to the south. The official languages are Catalan, Spanish, and the Aranese dialect of Occitan.

Catalonia News and Videos   LIVE

โ„น๏ธ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

Thousands of supporters of Catalan independence marched through central Madrid on Saturday to protest the trialย of 12 separatist leaders whoย face years in..
2 days ago • WorldNews
Tens of thousands of supporters of Catalan independence protest in Spain's capital.
2 days ago • BBC News
Thousands of supporters of Catalan independence marched through central Madrid on Saturday in protest at the ongoing trial of 12 separatist leaders who face..
Credit: Reuters - Published 2 days ago

By Jose Elas Rodrguez MADRID (Reuters) - Spanish far-right party Vox has an active role in the trial of Catalan separatist leaders, seizing the opportunity to..
Credit: Firstpost - Published 5 days ago

BARCELONA (Reuters) - Former Catalan president Carles Puigdemont, living in self-imposed exile in Belgium, will run in the May 26 European Parliament elections..
Credit: Firstpost - Published 1 week ago

You might like