FIFA World Cup

Association football competition for men's national teams

FIFA World Cup (Under CC License)

The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men's national teams of the members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport's global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The current champion is France, which won its second title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.

FIFA World Cup News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
(CNN)A Brazilian striker is poised to become the first footballer without Chinese ancestry to play for China. Elkeson -- who qualifies to play for China under..
2 days ago • WorldNews

Australia turned the tables on Canada in the final quarter on Saturday for an 81-73 win in a pre-World Cup exhibition basketball game
Credit: - Published 6 days ago

Even though he helped coach the winners, who received huge prizes, he himself has not become rich - only charging his clients a fixed fee of £120 with no..
6 days ago • WorldNews
Scotland head coach Shelley Kerr admits she would "do things differently" in hindsight after players were reduced to tears at a meeting the day after they were..
Credit: BBC News - Published 1 week ago

The U.S. women's national soccer team is "sorely disappointed" no agreement was reached in mediation talks with the U.S. Soccer Federation.
Credit: - Published 1 week ago

Mediation between the U.S. Soccer Federation and the U.S. women's soccer team broke down without a resolution on Wednesday. The World Cup champions filed a..
Credit: CBS News - Published 1 week ago

Neither Lewis Ludlam nor Ruaridh McConnochie were on the World Cup radar last summer but both have come from nowhere to earn a call-up to Eddie Jones' England..
Credit: BBC News - Published 1 week ago

Marseille: French club Marseille said on Tuesday they had sacked World Cup winner Adil Rami reportedly for 'gross misconduct' following a disciplinary procedure...
1 week ago • WorldNews

You might like