Jones retains his title, praises Smith for not forcing his disqualification

Credit: Reuters - Sports
Published on March 3, 2019 - Duration: 01:01s

Jones retains his title, praises Smith for not forcing his disqualification

UFC Light Heavyweight champion Jon Jones admits an illegal knee on his opponent could have seen him disqualified and stripped of his belt, thanks opponent for fighting on.

Advertisement

Jones retains his title, praises Smith for not forcing his disqualification

SHOWS: LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, UNITED STATES (MARCH 3, 2019) (UFC - MUST COURTESY UFC.

NO RESALES) 1.

(SOUNDBITE) (English) UFC LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPION JON JONES, ON ILLEGAL KNEE WHILE SMITH WAS ON GROUND THAT COULD HAVE LED TO A DISQUALIFICATION, SAYING: "The illegal knee was totally unintentional.

In the moment, I felt his body rising and I felt I was ready to time a great head shot right after he got off of his palm.

To my understanding on his fingertips, he's considered standing, and his body came up and I threw the kick and I guess his palm was still down.

It was totally unintentional, hats off to Anthony Smith for having a lionheart.

I mean, I think the average person would have used that as a way out and became a world champion (through Jones' disqualification).

He was tired, he had been hit with the kitchen sink, and I mean, I did an illegal blow, and he decided to allow the fight to continue and I'm so proud of him for just being a real warrior out there and continuing the fight." STORY: UFC light heavyweight champion Jon Jones breathed a huge sigh of relief as he defended his title with a points victory over Anthony Smith despite striking his opponent with an illegal knee as he was on the ground.

The 31-year-old New Yorker controlled the fight from start to finish, using a dizzying array of kicks to control the distance and out-wrestling Smith against the fence.

But in the closing seconds of the fourth round, Jones landed an illegal left knee to the head of Smith, who had one hand on the ground.

The challenger would have been awarded a win by disqualification if he told the referee he was unable to continue, but he fought on before ultimately dropping the decision.

Jones' only loss came against Matt Hamill after he mauled his opponent but was disqualified for a '12 to 6 elbow'.

You are here

Recent related videos from verified sources

The Report Movie Trailer 01:00
Credit: Teaser-Trailer.com - Published 5 days ago 

You might like