NFL Admits to Blown Penalty Call in NFC Championship Game

Credit: Wibbitz Top Stories
Published on January 28, 2019 - Duration: 01:08s

NFL Admits to Blown Penalty Call in NFC Championship Game

NFL Admits to Blown Penalty Call in NFC Championship Game The failure to call a personal foul on the Rams' Nickell Robey-Coleman for his hit on the Saints' Tommylee Lewis led to a nearly unanimous cry that it cost New Orleans a trip to the Super Bowl.

Sean Payton, Saints head coach, said the NFL called him after the game to admit that referees made a mistake in not calling a penalty.

In response to the lawsuit this week, It's the first time since the game ended eight days ago that the league has publicly commented on the play.

Advertisement

You are here

You might like