World Cup 2026: U.S., Canada and Mexico win united bid

CBS News - June 13, 2018

North America has been awarded the 2026 World Cup.

The united bid is a joint effort between Canada, Mexico and the U.S. Delegates from more than 200 countries gathered in Moscow chose the North America bid over Morocco.

Sixty of the games in 2026 will be played in the U.S. including the championship match.

Ten games will be played in Canada and 10 in Mexico.

The U.S. last hosted the World Cup in 1994.


Recent related news

Canada prevailed in the inaugural World Cup of Curling, winning the mixed doubles final on Saturday night over the U.S. Canadians Laura Walker and Kirk Muyres...
1 week ago •

WASHINGTON (AP) β€” U.S. and Canadian negotiators are working long hours to keep Canada in a North American trade bloc. The Canadian envoy β€” Minister of...
6 days ago •

America has been at war to transfer control of Syria over to the Saud family, who own Saudi Arabia; and America has been trying to do this ever since theΒ first...
4 days ago • Eurasia Review

TENERIFE, Spain (AP) β€” Sue Bird is on a record fifth U.S. women's basketball World Cup team.The veteran guard will try and help the Americans win a third...
6 days ago • New Zealand Herald

You might like