Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing (United States)

American Thoroughbred horse racing honor for winning three specific stakes races as a three-year-old

Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing (United States) (Under CC License)

In the United States, the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, commonly known as the Triple Crown, is a title awarded to a three-year-old Thoroughbred horse who wins the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. The three races were inaugurated in different years, the last being the Kentucky Derby in 1875. These races are now run annually in May and early June of each year. The Triple Crown Trophy, commissioned in 1950 but awarded to all previous winners as well as those after 1950, is awarded to a Triple Crown winner.

Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing (United States) News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
War of Will bounced back from a bumpy ride in the Kentucky Derby to win the Preakness Stakes, holding off a field that included a riderless horse that threw his..
Credit: CBS News - Published 2 days ago

After a controversial Kentucky Derby, the 144th Preakness will have to brand itself as one of the most wide-open runnings in recent memory.
Credit: - Published 6 days ago

The Preakness Stakes is the second horse race featured in the annual Triple Crown
Credit: CBS News - Published 1 week ago

You might like