Soviet Union

1922–1991 country in Europe and Asia

Soviet Union (Under CC License)

The Soviet Union, officially the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), was a socialist state in Eurasia that existed from 1922 to 1991. Nominally a union of multiple national Soviet republics, its government and economy were highly centralized. The country was a one-party state, governed by the Communist Party with Moscow as its capital in its largest republic, the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic. Other major urban centres were Leningrad, Kiev, Minsk, Tashkent, Alma-Ata, and Novosibirsk. It spanned over 10,000 kilometres (6,200 mi) east to west across 11 time zones, and over 7,200 kilometres (4,500 mi) north to south. It had five climate zones: tundra, taiga, steppes, desert and mountains.

Soviet Union News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

The U.S.S.R. sent women and people of color to space years before the U.S.
Credit: - Published 5 days ago

President John F. Kennedy ignited the "space race" with the Soviet Union on May 25, 1961 with his goal of putting an American on the moon; The Apollo 11 mission..
Credit: CBS News - Published 5 days ago

Russians hit back at Western historians over huge Soviet tank losses in the Battle of Kursk in WW2.
Credit: BBC News - Published 1 week ago

You might like