Stanley Cup

Championship trophy awarded annually in the National Hockey League

Stanley Cup (Under CC License)

The Stanley Cup is the championship trophy awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) playoff winner. It is the oldest existing trophy to be awarded to a professional sports franchise, and the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) considers it to be one of the "most important championships available to the sport". The trophy was commissioned in 1892 as the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup and is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada who donated it as an award to Canada's top-ranking amateur ice hockey club. The entire Stanley family supported the sport, the sons and daughters all playing and promoting the game. The first Cup was awarded in 1893 to Montreal Hockey Club, and winners from 1893 to 1914 were determined by challenge games and league play. Professional teams first became eligible to challenge for the Stanley Cup in 1906. In 1915, professional ice hockey organizations National Hockey Association (NHA) and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA) reached a gentlemen's agreement in which their respective champions would face each other annually for the Stanley Cup. It was established as the de facto championship trophy of the NHL in 1926 and then the de jure NHL championship prize in 1947.

Stanley Cup News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
Hall of Famer Steve Yzerman will return to the Detroit Red Wings as GM. He played for the Wings from 1983-2006, winning three Stanley Cups as captain.
Credit: - Published 13 hours ago

All four of USA TODAY Sports' NHL panelists picked the Lightning to win the Stanley Cup. Instead, they got swept in Round 1. What the heck happened?
Credit: - Published 3 days ago

Brooks Orpik scored less than two minutes into overtime, Alex Ovechkin had two assists and the Washington Capitals beat the Carolina Hurricanes 4-3 to give the..
Credit: - Published 6 days ago

The NHL playoffs are now in full force and some trends may have emerged. These are the early winners and losers on the quest for the Stanley Cup.
Credit: - Published 1 week ago

Nicklas Backstrom and Alex Ovechkin combined to score three goals on the first eight shots, and the defending Stanley Cup champion Washington Capitals survived a..
Credit: - Published 1 week ago

You might like